New Book Review – “The S-Word” by Chelsea Pitcher

I am a member of NetGalley.com, which is a website in which you can request ARCs (Advanced Reader Copies) of books. I recently was granted permission to read “The S-Word” by Chelsea Pitcher. Thanks for the opportunity, NetGalley! The following is my review:

I really wanted to like this book. Here’s a cool premise with interesting characters. What’s not to like. I jumped for joy when NetGalley approved me for this ARC. However, the excitement was short-lived. Here’s the low-down on the plot.

Angie is extremely distraught when she finds out that her best friend has slept with her boyfriend. Lizzie, the best friend, is bullied at school in various ways. Lizzie commits suicide,  yet she is still bullied post-mortem. Angie tries to figure out exactly who it is that keeps bullying her former best friend.Sounds interesting, right? Well, the summary was my favorite part of the book because it made the book seem entertaining as hell. I can’t really put my finger on what I didn’t like about the author’s writing style but I can’t. I felt that all the characters were stereotypical and vapid. Angie’s character irritated me enough. Her character made the book go from mildly interesting to incredibly cheesy quickly with the “who-done-it?” aspect. I commend the author on selecting such a relevant topic in today’s youth, bullying. However, I feel that her advantage stops there. It is not a good reflection on today’s youth as the character’s are pale in comparison. Also, I know that this is a pre-edited copy of the book but wow, the grammatical errors were numerous and extremely off-putting.

2/5 Stars

Leave a Reply

