Fears

So, everyone is afraid of something. Whether it be heights, spiders, or pickles, there is a little bit of fear in all of us. My fear, which is completely irrational, is labeled as emetophobia.

Emetophobia is the fear of vomit. Whether I am near it or I actually do it, I panic. I have dealt with this since I was a small child and it has varied in severity throughout my life. When I was around 7 years old, I watched a movie with projectile vomit. I believe the movie was called Problem Child 2. I’m not so sure exactly why it bothered me so much. I just know that was where it originated. Vomit always freaked me out but I didn’t have panic attacks and severe anxiety about it until I was about 15. I witnessed another situation in my personal life where I had to deal with it at work. From then on, it debilitated me. For the longest time, I was unable to work, go to school, or hang out with friends without severe anxiety. I had non-stop anxiety and I had to be on medication to function. I used to be more of an outgoing person but it all stopped after that event happened. 

I finally got to a point in my life where I didn’t want my fear to control me. I have pushed myself to travel alone, to go to amusement parks, and to do other things that make me feel uneasy. I miss the careless person I used to be but I won’t let myself miss out on the special things in my life because of a fear that I have. 

 

Leave a Reply

